Larimer Street (Hardcover)

Larimer Street Cover Image
$29.99
Email or call for price.

Description


Based on the true story of the charismatic leader of the Sunshine Rescue Mission, Larimer Street is the triumphant, epic tale of one man's courage and redemption through his weaknesses and failures. There is power in going through-in surviving. And in the final analysis, losing some battles but winning the war.


Larimer Street, downtown Denver, 1907-Jim Goodheart, a tall and handsome man, loses everything. Staggering in drunkenness and desperation on a dark night in November, he decides to drink a bottle of carbolic acid and make room in the world for a better man. Jim stumbles onto the doorstep of the rescue mission on Larimer Street, Denver's skid row.


In spite of Jim's life-long battle with alcoholism, and by divine redemption, he becomes known as the captivating leader of the Sunshine Rescue Mission. Through World War I and the horrific 1918 Influenza epidemic, the mission serves the destitute in an era without safety nets or social programs.


The pain of WWI and his personal war against alcoholism brings him to the point of losing it all again, except his loving wife, Ada, and his faith. Larimer Street is a story of courage and redemption. It is not a story of Jim's success over his challenges, but a story of triumph through his weaknesses and failures.


Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, faith, and love.




Product Details
ISBN: 9781947545144
ISBN-10: 1947545140
Publisher: Agape Orthopaedics
Publication Date: December 1st, 2021
Pages: 430
Language: English