Over and Under the Rainforest (Hardcover)

Over and Under the Rainforest By Kate Messner, Christopher Silas Neal (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
In Our Warehouse - Expected arrival in 2-5 days

Description


Award-winning duo Kate Messner and Christopher Silas Neal take readers on a thrilling tour of one of the most diverse ecosystems on planet earth: the rainforests of Central America.

Part of the critically acclaimed Over and Under series that includes Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt and Over and Under the Snow!

Under the canopy of the rainforest hundreds of animals make their homes, but up in the leaves hides another world. Turn the pages of this beautiful and educational book to discover in words and mesmerizing illustration:
  • Animals like the slender parrot snake and the blue morpho butterfly.
  • The canopies where toucans and pale-billed woodpeckers chatter and call.
  • Capuchin monkeys who swing from vines and slow-moving sloths who wait out daily thunderstorms.
  • And much more!
Discover the wonder that lies hidden among the roots, above the winding rivers, and under the emerald leaves of the rainforest in this glorious nature book for children and adults alike. Perfect for anyone who can't get enough of the rainforest and all the animals living in it.

SO MUCH TO LEARN: Every page within this book is an adventure. In addition to the rainforest flora and fauna explored throughout, there are twenty animals that live on the ground and in the forest canopy and the rivers listed in the back matter, along with further reading suggestions. It's a wonderful resource for children who have an interest in the natural world.

POPULAR NATURE KIDS BOOKS: The entire Over and Under series is beloved by parents, educators, and young readers who cherish the engaging text, diverse characters, and stunning artwork that provide an opportunity to explore nature usually hidden from us. They are great for story time as well as school and homeschool libraries for developing lessons that delve inside ecosystems.

NONFICTION BOOKS FOR CHILDREN: Unique in their approach, author Kate Messner and illustrator Christopher Silas Neal create books that channel the mystery and magic of the natural world. Kirkus Reviews describes Over and Under the Rainforest as "part outdoor adventure, part animal nonfiction book" and says "this exciting blend will delight children interested in fact and fiction."
 

Perfect for:
  • Parents, grandparents, librarians, science teachers, and educators
  • Gift for kids who love nature, rainforests, animals, and learning more about the world
  • Readers who like The Rainforest Grew All Around, The Magic and Mystery of Trees, Planting a Rainbow, and A Seed Is Sleepy and other books in the Nature Books series by Dianna Hutts Aston and Sylvia Long

About the Author


Christopher Silas Neal is the award-winning artist of Over and Under the Snow, Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt, and Over and Under the Pond. His work has been published in a variety of books and magazines and featured on television. He currently lives and works in Brooklyn.

Kate Messner is an award-winning author whose many books for kids have been selected as Best Books by the New York Times, Junior Library Guild, IndieBound, and Bank Street College of Education. She lives on Lake Champlain with her family.

Praise For…


“[C]hannels the mystery and magic of the natural world. Part outdoor adventure, part animal nonfiction book, this exciting blend will delight children interested in fact and fiction. [Over and Under the Rainforest d]raws you right in.”—Kirkus Reviews



“Children who’d love to see Amazonia can visit in a vicarious way with Kate Messner’s Over and Under the Rainforest, illustrated in muted, stylized fashion by Christopher Silas Neal. . . . [An] easygoing picture-book excursion for readers ages 4-8.”—The Wall Street Journal



“[S]imply told and lushly illustrated. . . [Over and Under the Rainforest] offers an engaging and easy introduction to animal habitats.”—Booklist 



“Lush mixed-media illustrations in shades of teal and violet vary in perspective, seamlessly shifting from sweeping aerial views to close-ups of animals, insects, and plants. . . Capturing the mysterious and magical beauty of the tropical biome, [Over and Under the Rainforest] is sure to encourage further rainforest investigation.”—The Horn Book Magazine



“[E]ngaging. . . educational. . . Every page is an adventure and will have children wondering what they’ll discover next. . . . Perfect for children who have an interest in the natural world.”—School Library Journal



Product Details
ISBN: 9781452169408
ISBN-10: 1452169403
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: August 11th, 2020
Pages: 48
Language: English
Series: Over and Under