The Orphan's Tale (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Orphan's Tale Cover Image
$15.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


The Orphan's Tale by Pam Jenoff is a story of two extraordinary women who are thrown together during World War 2.  16 year old Noa is disowned by her family when she becomes pregnant by a Nazi soldier and is forced to give up her baby.  When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish babies headed for a concentration camp, she is haunted by the child that was taken from her and snatches one of the babies.  Ingrid grew up in a Jewish circus family in Germany where she performed as an aerialist and married a German officer, but in 1942 her husband is forced to divorce her and she returns to her hometown only to find that her family has disappeared.  A rival German circus family takes her in and gives her a stage name and forged Aryan papers.  Noa and the baby also find refuge in the German circus, but Nora must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in.  Although rivals at first, Noa and Astrid forge a powerful bond, but the circus' power to protect them is tenuous and Noa and Astrid are forced to decide what matters most to each of them.  I loved this book!  

— From Staff Reviews

Description


A New York Times bestseller
"Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. " --Library Journal

"Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion.... I read this novel in a headlong rush." --Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep... When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night.

Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another--or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780778319818
ISBN-10: 0778319814
Publisher: Mira Books
Publication Date: February 21st, 2017
Pages: 368
Language: English